Where the wild things REALLY are…


Recently, a cousin’s birthday celebration resulted in myself and 10 other curious party animals walking through the doors of the Spearmint Rhino Club in Rialto.
The Spearmint Rhino is- for lack of a better name- a Gentlemen’s club, fully equipped with the necessary assets that make an establishment deserving of such a title.
Marking my first time at this sort of risqué spot, a lot of thoughts fired through my mind: Silicon, glitter, clear heels– you get the picture.
Contrary to popular belief- or better yet the fantasies of men everywhere- women are not as comfortable with same-sex interactions as the world expects them to be.
The issue of self-confidence always comes into play when women are placed in any situation together, especially one that involves naked acrobatics.
Yet for educational and inquisitive purposes, we bailed on the self-esteem Lifetime special, ordered a couple rounds and embarked on an evening with our racy female counterparts.
Before arriving, I had a small sense of what the night would consist of. I recalled infamous scenes in movies like Striptease where the stunning Demi Moore played an exotic dancer, or Showgirls starring Elizabeth Berkley who showed a drastic change from her role as Jessie Spano in the ‘90s sitcom Saved By The Bell.
Though I did not expect Demi-esque type dancers, I made sure the club we chose would not make me consider an emergency Tetanus shot.
The Spearmint Rhino was exactly what I pictured, dimly lit and swarming with young men and their raging hormones. The dancers were beautiful and friendly, adding to the energetic aura that our celebratory party carried in.

What I didn’t anticipate was the driven nature of the aforementioned entertainers. I mean, I know it’s their job to get that dollar but damn!
I had to turn down several offers for lap dances, staying firm with my choice to keep the ladies on the stage and not in my pockets.
My male friends immediately questioned my decision to pass on the dance, alluding to the idea that my actions were curiously unorthodox.
Look guys, while I am mature and comfortable enough with my sexuality to attend a birthday bash at this exotic venue, I have to draw the line somewhere. I’m about as interested in a lap dance at the Rhino as you would be at Chippendales. So thanks but no thanks.
The only drawback to the evening, a factor that would likely prevent me from planning a repeat night, were the males in the audience.
Apart from the lively posse that I arrived with, the remaining attendees were seated stone cold around the stage.
I understand the point of this is to watch the entertainment but it was strange to see guys in their early to mid-twenties staring blankly at the dancers for hours.
These particular guests wrapped an awkward ambiance around the night that made it tempting to snap your fingers in their faces just to confirm consciousness.
Overall, thanks wholly to my partners in crime, the night was a successful one resulting in laughs, plenty of Twitter updates and, undoubtedly, several hangovers.

December 18, 2009 Posted by | Sarah In The City | Leave a comment