Burst your balloon.

Okay so who the hell is this Balloon Kid and why should I give a damn?
One minute I’m watching our gorgeous president talk about health care and the next, I’m getting aerial footage of an aluminum foil aircraft.
After my initial confusion settled (I had plenty of time since Fox News decided this Reynolds Wrap UFO was worth two hours of my time), I started thinking: Who dropped the ball?
Who decided that this six year old, allegedly trapped inside this aircraft, was worth hours of live coverage?
Not to be cold-hearted, but honestly, do you care? Because I don’t.
Break in for a couple of minutes and tell me he’s in there, then break in an hour later and tell me if he’s alive. I really don’t need any more than that, Broadcast News.
Then, as if this whole fiasco wasn’t ridiculous enough, the damn kid wasn’t even up there. Turns out, he was hiding in the attic.
I mean attic, shiny silver balloon UFO.
Tomato, tomah’to, right?
But sadly, it’s not that simple.
My time, as well as everyone else that was tuning in, is gone. Precious hours that I will never get back and to be honest, I’m fucking pissed.
A reporter’s job is to collect information, organize it and deliver it to the public.
It doesn’t mean screaming “Action!” the moment a bored Colorado couple cry wolf.
I think, instead of slapping them with a felony, we should shove the kid and his parents in the balloon and let them set sail with half a tank of gas and no map.
That way, we’ll be even.

balloon

 

 

October 30, 2009 Posted by | 1 | 2 Comments

People are taking the piss out of you everyday. They butt into your
life, take a cheap shot at you and then disappear. They leer at you
from tall buildings and make you feel small. They make flippant
comments from buses that imply you’re not sexy enough and that all the
fun is happening somewhere else. They are on TV making your girlfriend
feel inadequate. They have access to the most sophisticated technology
the world has ever seen and they bully you with it. They are The
Advertisers and they are laughing at you.
You, however, are forbidden to touch them. Trademarks, intellectual
property rights and copyright law mean advertisers can say what they
like wherever they like with total impunity.
Fuck that. Any advert in a public space that gives you no choice
whether you see it or not is yours. It’s yours to take, re-arrange and
re-use. You can do whatever you like with it. Asking for permission is
like asking to keep a rock someone just threw at your head.
You owe the companies nothing. Less than nothing, you especially
don’t owe them any courtesy. They owe you. They have re-arranged the
world to put themselves in front of you. They never asked for your
permission, don’t even start asking for theirs.
– Banksy

October 30, 2009 Posted by | 1 | Leave a comment