Welcome to Dubai

familyguy

Fifteen long hours later and we finally arrived in Dubai. Though I’ve made this trip before in the past, I guess I’ve forgotten what a toll it takes on your body and sanity– either that or my fat ass just can’t fit comfortably in the airplane seats anymore.

But seriously, they’re like 1 1/2′ in width and after about 4 hours you start playing the “what uncomfortably awkward position can I fold myself into so I could possibly get some shut eye” game. So much fun.
What sucks even more is that the first class section of Emirates Airlines flaunts the Rolls Royce of airplane seats and “the rest of us” get the pleasure of walking passed them on our way down the Green Mile to our sardine can.

Suffocation aside, Dubai is absolutely incredible. There is nothing I can describe that you can’t just Google Image (Burj Al Arab, Atlantis, etc), but really they went all out in the UAE and you have to see it to believe it.
It’s any artist’s fantasy land, every wall embellished beautifully with murals and artwork and every sky scraper flaunting plenty of unique features. Even the freeway overpass is lined with purple neon lights.
It’s oddly similar to Las Vegas. Same amazing architecture and flashy lights. Same alive night life. Same disgustingly humid weather.
Except instead of rowdy drunks, there’s groups of Saudis.

Speaking of death by heat stroke, no one here goes out in the Summer. Everything is indoors, including a skating rink in the Dubai Mall and a ski slope in the Emirates Mall– yea, I told you. They’re not fucking around.
You basically go from air conditioned hotel room to air conditioned car to air conditioned [insert destination here].
Despite the fact, in the 30 seconds it takes to walk from the hotel lobby to your car, you get a taste of what Hell must feel like. It’s HOT.
The beds in our hotel room didn’t even have blankets on them, just thin white sheets.

In the 12 hours I spent here, I saw enough to let me know that Dubai is the place to be. Just not in the summer. Take a trip out here in December and you’ll have the time of your life.

Right now, Noel and I are at Gate 203 in Dubai International Airport waiting for our connecting flight to Lebanon. LAX is nothing compared to this place, but once again, it’s really something you just have to see.
The airport security here dress exactly like the Sierra Leone army (Think “Blood Diamond”). It’s so badass. If the U.S. wants some serious terrorist protection, we need to import some of these guys.
Oh and they’re hot, too. Plus!

Now it’s time for another 3 hours in a cramped airplane. I can’t wait.

June 12, 2009 Posted by | 1 | 3 Comments